Movember

p1294735384-3

My family has persevered this month, and not just with the obligatory November Norovirii and other school-based plagues, they’ve also persevered with me. My 7 year old daughter didn’t cry when I shaved my mostly permanent beard off; my partner, Rachel, didn’t flinch when she saw my naked face for the first time in two years, although whenever I have shaved on a whim previously, she has reacted like I was an impostor, unable to look me in the eye.

The reason they persevered so well is because the reason I did it is a good one. Many of us will have some connection to someone who has had to deal with prostate and testicular cancer. I certainly have. So for the second time I decided to upset the family and grow a mo’ for Movember ( http://uk.movember.com/about/ ). They’ve been brilliant about it, to the point where our daughter gets upset when she sees a man without a Mo’ in the month of November.

For my part, I’ve been doing a self-portrait each week ( or close enough ) and posting on the ‘tinternet for all to point and laugh at. You can see them here, along with the rest of my website:http://www.pixelchristi.co.uk/p968781057 – there’s one more to come, on November 30, when I get to regrow my face fungus and vow never to do it again. Well, that’s what my family think.

It’s been an interesting exercise, from a professional point of view too. Self-portraits are an invaluable tool: for trying out new techniques, and also for showing yourself the concerns that a sitter may have in front of your lens. It’s an exercise that I’ll be continuing and one I heartily recommend to other photographers. Heck if I can make my face look acceptable, then pretty much anyone else is on to a winner.

If you want to donate to my Movember page then you can do so here, even the smallest amount would be gratefully received:http://mobro.co/pixelchristi – it truly is for a great, and under-sung, cause.

You can see my other work here: Portraits 

Leave a Reply

